By Property Hunter
clock 12-10-2019
hit 1,064
Property Hunter Announces Nominees and Judges for Real Estate Awards 2019

Property Hunter is announcing their line-up of judges and nominees for their first award, Property Hunter Real Estate Awards 2019 (PHREA).

More than just an award show, PHREA expects to raise the standard for quality and innovation in the industry by fairly awarding the deserving projects and developers in Sabah. Prior to the event, each nominee will perform a 5-minute presentation, giving a diverse pool of judges the chance to learn more about their projects and why they are eligible to win an award.

This year, the awards gala dinner will be held on the 30th of October in one of Kota Kinabalu’s most prestigious 5-star establishment, the Marriott Hotel.

Sabahan Nominees Raising the Bar

PHREA 2019 will give leading developers a chance to shine under nine different award categories. These categories highlight all major aspects of the real estate industry in Sabah.

Ten outstanding local residential projects have been nominated for three different categories - “Best Residential Development” under High-rise, Low-rise or Landed sub-categories. Seven developments are competing for the “Best Commercial Development” award.

Four homegrown developers are nominated for “Outstanding Developer” and a “Best Property Marketing Campaign” award will be given to one of the four nominated developments for their innovative and successful marketing plan.

Five developments with the highest potential for a successful future are nominated to win the “Promising Development” award, one of two properties will win “Best Managed Property” and five exciting public facilities in Sabah have the opportunity to take home the “Inspiring Public Space” award.

Each nominated project and developer are pivotal players in Sabah’s real estate industry and have upped the ante for the years to come. To learn more about the award categories and nominees, you may visit the official page for PHREA 2019 here -

Judges from All Spectrum of the Industry

Qualified nominees are currently being evaluated by a carefully curated panel of judges. All judges will not know the winner until it is announced on the night of the gala dinner by independent auditor, Baker Tilly CKF.

Other than keeping each vote anonymous, Property Hunter selectively hand-picked the panel of judges from a wide pool of industry professionals, in order to ensure authentic evaluation and results.

The panel of judges consists of representatives from the following:

Sabah Housing and Real Estate Developers Association (SHAREDA)

  • President, Datuk Chew Sang Hai

  • Deputy President, Datuk Sr. Chua Soon Ping

Malaysian Institute of Estate Agents (MIEA)

  • Chairlady, Mary Yu

  • Chairlady Elect, Rose Lai

Royal Institution of Surveyors Malaysia (RISM)

  • Property Surveyor, Sr Hj. Ramli Osman

  • Property Surveyor, Sr Liaw Lam Thye

Pertubuhan Akitek Malaysia (PAM)

  • Hon. Secretary, Ar. Daniel Koh

Dewan Bandaraya Kota Kinabalu (DBKK)

  • Director of City Planning, Stanley Chong

Subsidiary Title Owners & Purchasers Association Sabah (STOPS)

  • Honorary Advisor, Ken Lo

University Malaysia Sabah (UMS)

  • Senior Lecturer, Civil Engineering, Dr Ahmad Nurfaidhi Rizalman


  • Dato Louis Tan

Property Hunter Real Estate Awards 2019 is sponsored by Nippon Paint and is made possible through the collaboration of key industry associations. The Awards Gala Dinner will be held on 30 Oct 2019 at Kota Kinabalu Marriott Hotel. For a full list of shortlisted nominees, please visit

Tags / Keywords:

footer tagline